M^4 Symposium – 11 November 2022 Storey Hall Auditorium, RMIT, 336-348 Swanston St, Melbourne

M^4

Welcome / Opening Remarks

8.30am – 8.50am	Registration		
8.50am – 9.00am	Dr Nicholas Smith – Welcoming participants & opening the meeting		
Keynote Lecture 1:	chaired by Dr Andrew Christofferson		
9.00am – 9.50am	Dr Lars Goerigk (University of Melbourne) – Tackling valence excitation energies with time-dependent DFT: tips, warnings and latest developments		
Keynote Lecture 2:	chaired by Dr Tu Le		
9.50am - 10.40am	Dr Drew Berry (WEHI) – The molecular engines of Metabolism		
2			

Tea Break

10.40am - 11.00am Served in the foyer

Morning Session: Materials	chaired by Dr. Fangfang Chen	
11.00am – 11.30am Prof Katya Pas (Monash University) – Fully	ab initio multi-scale calculations	
enabled by GPU technology		
11.30am – 12.00am A/Prof Zhe Liu (University of Melbourne) –	Solvation-involved nanoionics: using	
high-performance computing for new physics a engineering design	and developing multiscale models for	
12.00pm – 12.30pm Prof Michelle Spencer (RMIT) – DFT Modelling of Materials for Battery and		
Electronic Device Applications		

Lunch

12.30pm – 1.15pm Served in the foyer

Afternoon Session: Biomolecular		chaired by Em. Prof. Brian Smith
1.15pm – 1.45pm	Prof Tiffany Walsh (Deakin University) – TBC	
1.45pm – 2.15pm	Dr Jia Truong (RMIT) – Computer aided drug d	esign and molecular diagnosis
2.15pm – 2.45pm	Dr Patrick Charchar – Origins of the pH-Respon	nsive Photoluminescence of
	Peptide-Functionalized Au Nanoclusters	

Afternoon Tea

2.45pm - 3.05pm Served in the foyer

HDR Student Sessi	on chaired by Mr Alexander Hill
3.05pm – 3.25pm	Rashad Kariuki – Behaviour of citrate-capped ultrasmall gold nanoparticles on a
	supported lipid bilayer interface at atomic resolution
3.25pm – 3.45pm	Kenee Custodio – Identifying structure/property relationships in flame-retardant
	bio-based resins via molecular dynamics simulations
3.45 pm - 4.05 pm	Xue Yan – Lithium ion intercalation induced dynamic evolution of moiré
	superlattices in graphene on SiC (0001)
4.05pm - 4.25pm	Zahra Zahir – Robust DFT-based strategies for predicting valence tautomeric
	complexes
4.25pm – 4.45pm	Anindya Ganguly – The composition and structure of soot precursors formed by
	acetylene pyrolysis – Insights from reactive molecular dynamics

Closing Remarks 4.45pm – 4.50pm Dr Nicholas Smith – Closing of the meeting

Poster Session

4.50pm - 6.00pmIn the foyer5:45pmPoster Awards

2022 Organizing Committee

Dr Nicholas Smith Dr Andrew Christofferson Dr Tu Le Dr Fangfang Chen Dr David Chalmers Mr Alexander Hill La Trobe University RMIT University RMIT University Deakin University Monash University Swinburne University

Posters

1. Ashakiran Maibam (RMIT University)

Modelling single site catalyst anchored 2D materials for sustainable ammonia production

2. Alexander Lamb (RMIT University)

Aminopropyl grafted silica catalysts for tributyrin transesterification: a molecular dynamics study

3. Rashad Kariuki (RMIT University)

Behavior of citrate-capped ultrasmall gold nanoparticles on a supported lipid bilayer interface at atomic resolution

4. **Sallam Alagawani (Swinburne University)** Halogen impact on 4-anilinoquinazoline ERFR-TKIs using IR and NMR spectroscopy

5. Islam Alagwani (Swinburne University)

Evaluation of SARS-CoV-2 Main Protease Inhibitor, ml188, Using Molecular Dynamics and Density Functional Methods

6. Kenee Kaiser Custodio (Deakin University)

Identifying structure/property relationships in flame-retardant bio-based resins *via* molecular dynamics simulations

7. **Garima Dobhal (Deakin University)** Development of a force field to model recovery of neodymium from ionic liquids

8. Shehani Perera (Deakin University) Structure and properties of stone wool glasses and interfaces from molecular dynamics simulations

9. Xue Yan (University of Melbourne)

Lithium ion intercalation induced dynamic evolution of moiré superlattices in graphene on SiC (0001)

10. Zahra Zahir (University of Melbourne)

Robust DFT-based strategies for predicting valence tautomeric complexes

11. Amy Hancock (University of Melbourne)

Do modern TD-DFT methods rise to the challenge of noncovalent excited-state binding?

12. Dominique Wappett (University of Melbourne)

Benchmarking Density Functional Theory for reactions catalysed by metalloenzymes

13. Diego Chaparro (University of Melbourne)

Effect of Al doping and on the formation and growth of flame-made titania nanoparticles

14. Diego Chaparro (University of Melbourne)

Unrevealing Nanosilver leaching by Reactive Molecular Dynamics

15. Anindya Ganguly (University of Melbourne)

The composition and structure of soot precursors formed by acetylene pyrolysis – Insights from reactive molecular dynamics

16. Sherif Tawfik (Deakin University)

Improved lithium diffusion in anion-substituted Li₇TaO₆

17. Dale Lonsdale (University of Melbourne)

A Thorough Investigation of the One-Electron Self-Interaction Error in Model Systems

18. Karen Bayros (RMIT University)

The effect of pinholes on Josephson transport in AlO_x tunnel junctions

19. Kevin Tran (RMIT University)

Restoring the piezoelectric properties of two-dimensional zinc oxide by surface modifications

20. Felix Schmalz (University of Melbourne)

Automated analysis of accelerated reactive molecular dynamics with ChemTraYzer

21. Annelisa Rigoni (RMIT University)

Perfluorocarbons as Electrolyte Additives: Enhancing Li-air Battery Performance

22. Jiaou Song (University of Melbourne)

Homogeneous Nucleation of Nitrogen at Cryogenic Conditions by Atomistic Simulations

23. Patrick D. Taylor (RMIT University)

Tuning the band alignment of van der waals heterostructures with ferroelectric materials

24. José María Castillo Robles (ICN2, RMIT University)

Effect of the electrode potential on the adsorption mechanism of 2-mercaptobenzimidazole (MBI) on Cu (111) surface

25. Arash Fakharnezhad (University of Melbourne)

Evaluation of soot nucleation rate by reactive Molecular Dynamics simulations